About Realt na Mara National School

In September 2009, Réalt na Mara Junior School and Réalt na Mara Senior School amalgamated to become Réalt na Mara National School and Centre for Autism. Réalt na Mara School is a co-educational primary school.

History

The School was built and opened in October 1954. This followed the closure of the old Convent School which was situated at the top end of Mill Street. The old school was founded by the Sisters  of Mercy who came to Dundalk in 1847. This school for girls was built in 1853 and demolished in 1970. When Réalt na Mara opened, boys and girls were enrolled.

In 1999 the school was invited by the Department of Education and Science to engage in a challenging new development, the first in County Louth, which was the setting up of a Centre for Autism within our mainstream school.

After some reflection, the Mercy Sisters decided to embrace the challenge whole-heartedly and the Autism Class is now a vibrant hive of activity. In November 2005, Minister Dermot Ahern officially launched the Centre.

Centre for Autism

Class 1 for children with autism was founded in 1999. We follow an adapted curriculum, make First Confession and Communion with our peers and join them for Art, P.E. and Music.